L is for Laurie

Like most people the first music I heard by Laurie Anderson was her album Big Science I really enjoyed it and I found that it was growing on me slowly. On first listen, I thought it was pretty good and I might have to learn more about her and her work. It didn’t take long for me to realize how much of an ear worm the entire album was. I couldn’t get it out my head and while sometimes that can be frustrating, in this case I loved it. I started to research her work further and discovered Big Science grew out of a four disc live collection entitled United States Live. Laurie Anderson’s music is very autobiographic and has a narrative quality throughout. In someways her work seems like a blending of Opera, Electronics, Pop and Concert Music all in one.

I was fascinated with United States Live for a while before discovering she had a new album coming out which was a soundtrack to a new film she had made. Both the soundtrack and the movie are titled Heart of a Dog and deals primarily with themes of death and loss. It’s a beautiful and staggering work of art. It’s easily one of my favorite albums of all time. Her ability to use her personal stories or current events happening around her to for a larger and more universal message is breathtaking.

Recommended Listening/Viewing:

Big Science

United States Live

Heart of a Dog (film)

Heart of a Dog (soundtrack)

Leave a Reply

